Syncing Notes across Devices with iCloud

iCloud is for syncing your notes between your devices. We recommend turning iCloud on if you have multiple devices. iCloud will automatically transfer your notes between your devices, giving you the latest version of each note on each device.

iCloud syncing is a two-way sync. If you delete a note from iCloud, it will also be deleted in Notability. Notes deleted from iCloud cannot be recovered, so please delete notes in Notability itself.

For a one-way backup to a cloud service, please see Auto-backup.

iCloud Syncing on iOS

Turning iCloud Syncing On

  1. Tap in the bottom library toolbar.
  2. Tap iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud on.

Turning iCloud Syncing Off

  1. Tap in the bottom library toolbar.
  2. Tap iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud off.
  4. Choose what to do with local copies of your notes.
    • Keep on my iPad/iPhone
      Your notes will remain on your device. If you would like to turn iCloud syncing back on, ensure that you have the latest version of Notability. Otherwise, your notes may be duplicated.
    • Delete on my iPad/iPhone
      Your notes will be removed from your device, leaving an empty library of notes. A copy of each note will remain in iCloud.

iCloud Syncing on macOS

Turning iCloud Syncing On

  1. Click "Notability > Preferences" in the menu bar at the top of your screen.
  2. Click iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud on.

Turning iCloud Syncing Off

  1. Click "Notability > Preferences" in the menu bar at the top of your screen.
  2. Click iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud off.
  4. Choose what to do with local copies of your notes.
    • Keep on my Mac
      Your notes will remain on your device. If you would like to turn iCloud syncing back on, ensure that you have the latest version of Notability. Otherwise, your notes may be duplicated.
    • Delete on my Mac
      Your notes will be removed from your device, leaving an empty library of notes. A copy of each note will remain in iCloud.

iCloud Version History

As you edit notes in Notability, iCloud periodically saves versions of the notes that you can recover if needed. These versions do not count against the total amount of data you can have in iCloud.

Using iCloud Version History on iOS

  1. In Notability, open your list of notes.
  2. Press and hold on a note's name.
  3. Tap the "iCloud Version History" button that appears.
  4. Tap a version to restore it. The restored version will be downloaded as a separate note, so it won't overwrite the latest version of the note.

Using iCloud Version History on macOS

  1. In Notability, open your list of notes.
  2. Right-click or control-click on a note's name.
  3. Click "iCloud Version History" from the menu that appears.
  4. Click a version to select it.
  5. Click "Recover". The recovered version will be downloaded as a separate note, so it won't overwrite the latest version of the note.

iCloud Troubleshooting

Have more questions? Submit a request