iCloud Syncing

iCloud is for syncing your notes between your devices. We recommend turning iCloud on if you have multiple devices. iCloud will automatically transfer your notes between your devices, giving you the latest version of each note on each device.

For information on cloud backup services, please see Auto-backup.

iCloud Syncing on iOS

Turning iCloud Syncing On

  1. Tap in the bottom library toolbar.
  2. Tap iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud on.

Turning iCloud Syncing Off

  1. Tap in the bottom library toolbar.
  2. Tap iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud off.
  4. Choose what to do with local copies of your notes.
    • Keep on my iPad/iPhone
      Your notes will be copied from iCloud to your device's local storage, so you'll have two copies of each note -- one in iCloud and one on your device. If you turn iCloud syncing back on, the notes on your device will join the notes in iCloud, giving you two copies of each note on your device.
    • Delete on my iPad/iPhone
      Your notes will be removed from your device's local storage, giving you an empty library of notes, but a copy of each note will remain stored in iCloud.

iCloud Syncing on macOS

Turning iCloud Syncing On

  1. Go to Notability > Preferences in the menu bar at the top of your screen.
  2. Click iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud on.

Turning iCloud Syncing Off

  1. Go to Notability > Preferences in the menu bar at the top of your screen.
  2. Click iCloud.
  3. Turn iCloud off.
  4. Choose what to do with local copies of your notes.
    • Keep on my Mac
      Your notes will be copied from iCloud to your device's local storage, so you'll have two copies of each note -- one in iCloud and one on your device. If you turn iCloud syncing back on, the notes on your device will join the notes in iCloud, giving you two copies of each note on your device.
    • Delete on my Mac
      Your notes will be removed from your device's local storage, giving you an empty library of notes, but a copy of each note will remain stored in iCloud.

Notes about iCloud Syncing

When your notes are synced to iCloud, you can find a list of them by going through these menus in an iOS device's Settings app:

  • iCloud > Storage > Manage Storage > Notability

WARNING: If a note is deleted from this list, it will be deleted from all of your synced devices, and notes deleted from this list cannot be recovered.

As a result, we strongly discourage deleting notes through this list. Instead, we encourage you to delete notes through Notability itself.

iCloud Version History

As you edit notes in Notability, iCloud periodically saves versions of the notes that you can recover if needed. These versions do not count against the total amount of data you can have in iCloud.

Using iCloud Version History on iOS

  1. In Notability, open your list of notes.
  2. Press and hold on a note's name.
  3. Tap the "iCloud Version History" button that appears.
  4. Tap a version to restore it. The restored version will be downloaded as a separate note, so it won't overwrite the latest version of the note.

Using iCloud Version History on macOS

  1. In Notability, open your list of notes.
  2. Right-click or control-click on a note's name.
  3. Click "iCloud Version History" from the menu that appears.
  4. Click a version to select it.
  5. Click "Recover". The recovered version will be downloaded as a separate note, so it won't overwrite the latest version of the note.

iCloud Troubleshooting

Have more questions? Submit a request